Skip to content

User permissions#

The site owner controls what every other user in the site can see and do. A user can only interact with a feature if their permissions allow it, and permissions can only be changed by someone holding Set Permissions. A site owner can always edit permissions.

The permissions table, with a column per user

Setting permissions#

  1. Open the Permissions tab in the site.
  2. If the user does not already appear as a column, use Select users… to find them in the list.
  3. Set each permission for each user. Selecting a white circle turns it blue and grants the permission; selecting a blue circle turns it white and removes it.

Permissions apply to the current site, all devices within a site (both current and future) and specific device permissions.

Permissions can be copied between users by selecting the user's initials at the top of the permissions column.

Site permissions#

Permission Allows
Site:View: All View the site and all its attributes
Site:Edit: All Edit all attributes of the site
Site:Delete Delete the site
Device management: Add Add a device to the site
Device management: Firmware Manage firmware for devices in the site
User: View View all users in the site
User: Add Add users to the site
User: Delete Remove users from the site
Control Panel: View View Control Panel
Control Panel: Edit Edit Control Panel
Task: Execute Fire tasks
Task: View View the list of tasks
Task: Add Create tasks
Task: Edit Edit existing tasks
Task: Delete Delete tasks
Task scheduler: Calendar event view View the calendar widget of scheduled tasks
Task scheduler: Calendar event edit Disable events on the calendar widget of scheduled tasks
Task scheduler: View View the list of task schedulers
Task scheduler: Add Create a task scheduler
Task scheduler: Edit Edit a task scheduler
Task scheduler: Delete Delete task schedulers
Schedule: View View schedules attached to task schedulers
Schedule: Add Create schedules to associate with task schedulers
Schedule: Delete Delete schedules
Schedule: Edit Edit schedules
API Key management View, create, edit and delete API keys in the site
Set Permissions Set permissions for other users in the site
Owner All site and device view permissions, plus Set permissions for every user

Device permissions#

Set permissions for a user for all devices in a site.

Permission Allows
View: All View all devices
Device: Replace Replace all devices in the site
Device: Delete Remove all devices from the site
Fixtures: View View all fixture Status information for all devices
Fixtures: Edit Adjust fixture Status information for all devices
Fixtures: Identify Use Identify functionality for fixture Status for all devices
Setting Beacon Toggle the beacon on all devices
Action reset Reset all devices in the site
Information View all device information - basic info, overview, status
Control View and fire all triggers
Maintenance View and perform actions that affect all devices - log level, date and time, watchdog, format storage
File: View View all files held in Cloud for all devices
File: Transfer Transfer a file from Cloud to all devices
File: Add Add a file to all devices in Cloud
File: Delete Delete a file from all devices in Cloud
Set Permissions Set other users' permissions for all devices

Each device then has its own permissions table which follows the same structure as the permissions listed above. It is recommended to use All Device permissions where possible.